Undapants

Standard

Being an adult is really weird. You know that moment when you are watching a movie or tv show and your Teen Beat crush from your youth is now playing the dad? (OMG did I just say “youth”?) I mean. WTF. Example: Marky Mark is the dad in Transformers – the dinosaur one.

Marky Mark in my head:

Marky Mark now:

WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN.

Which leads me to believe I’m getting older. Shhh. I know I am married and have a kid. But sometimes, I’m like  – I’m only 23. Then I stay up until 11 and am like, nope. I am not.

I digress.

I was an avid fan of TGIF when I was younger and I loved Boy Meets World. Seriously one of the best shows on television. EVER. My husband and still quote from it. If you don’t know who Feeny is…I feel sorry for you.

FEEENNYYY FEE HEE HEE HEEENAY    loved me some Boy meets world!!!!!! Tapanga's hair was ALWAYS the best!: FEEENNYYY FEE HEE HEE HEEENAY    loved me some Boy meets world!!!!!! Tapanga's hair was ALWAYS the best!

Well said | boy meets world: Well said | boy meets world

Plays with Squirrels Me Manifesto still gets me every time.

Admit you thought Eric was dumb until this happened.: Admit you thought Eric was dumb until this happened.

BMW was a great show for so many reasons. Lessons were learned. Friendships were made. Wholesome, good ol’ fashioned fun. I mean, this Topanga married her Cory.

Imagine my delight when I found out about Girl Meets World. And – this time – I would be able to share it with my kid.

We have recently started Netflixing it and watching it together. The first episode, I burst into tears. It was just so surreal to watch Cory and Topanga and their kids with my kid. Like seeing two old friends. Except now they were grown up, too.

To share something with my child that means so much to me is so powerful. Trying new foods. Watching him learn a new skill. Seeing a smile on his face. Singing songs and dancing around the kitchen. For the past few weeks, we have had time to connect on a new level. He is very close with his father. He was mine and mine alone for the nine months I carried him and when I finally had to share him, he bonded so tightly with his dad. Which, tbh, makes me so proud. I’m glad I have a partner that is such a wonderful parent. I couldn’t ask for anything more. I love it. But, for the past few weeks, he has been all mine again I get all the snuggles. I get the laughs. I get the fighting.

It has been super special for me to share life with him. I know he loves me. But It has been even better having him get to know me.

Boy Meets World: Boy Meets World

It is. It really is.

Leave a Reply

