Windows, Doors, and Beef Brisket

Standard

Life has a funny way of making you feel better when you should be feeling worse. It has its ups and downs. You know the saying “when one door closes, another opens.” I have both a love and hate relationship with change. I know that it is good. I know that it is hard. But, it helps me when I have people around me to push me and help me to grow. Which, in the end, is the best part about changes. I know when my husband married 25 year old Katie, he loved me then. But now, as 36 year old Katie, I am sure he loves the person I have become. I haven’t changed that much – I am still weird and goofy and loving and funny and kind. But somewhere, deep inside of me, I changed. I’m smarter. I’m a confident wife. I’m a good mom. I’m a better friend. (Sorry to all of those out there that I wasn’t such a good friend to over the years.)

I just returned from a vacation with my family. It was awesome. There are many things going on in my head right now – pushes and pulls. Happys and sads. But, I got some awesome time with some folks that make me super happy. Vacation, while exhilarating and exhausting, has a way of clearing your mind and resting your soul. I also had some amazing beef brisket that I cannot stop thinking about.

I spent some time a few weeks ago with a very good friend of mine. For a lot of reasons, she is going through a very tough time this year and it has been one difficult event after another. She is strong but even when we have so many things on our plates and it feels as though God is testing us, we have to remember that yes, this too shall pass. Her son was in a horrible accident and has been severely injured and being a mother during those terrible times you are not allowed to be the one that struggles. You keep it together. You don’t have that luxury. And while I have some struggles right now, they pale in comparison to anything she has going on. I could feel her anguish coming off of her in waves. I was letting her have a safe place to unload. And when you love someone, you have to do that. As we were finishing our afternoon together, I shared a few things going on in my life. And she sat there, gaping at me. And she felt guilty. And she felt like she wasn’t being a good friend. Now, here is a woman who is similar to Atlas. She has the world on her shoulders. A small business owner, a mother, a friend. She has a lot on her plate. And never, not once, has she faltered at being a divine support. I felt a little guilty burdening her with my trivial issues. The important thing is that her son, although being testing with a difficult set of injuries and a long road of recovery ahead of him, is alive. The rest of this stuff, it will pass. Other doors will open. New adventures are to be had. New friends to be made. New things to blog about. And, your health is so important. Without that, life actually is hard. The other things, you can change. So, my beautiful friend, I love you.

As for me, I am relaxed. Back from a terrific time in South Carolina. Reveling in my deep, dark tan (NOT) and ready for the rest of the summer. I just wanted to take a minute to say thanks. Thanks for letting me be me. Don’t sweat the small stuff. It isn’t worth it.

Oh yeah…remember how our dear Lauren has gotten engaged? She has asked me to be in her wedding. I cannot tell you how honored and excited I am! Yay! So, stay tuned for lots of developments in this category. I can’t wait for this to be us:

PS – Lauren, I would totally live on an Amish compound with you. I would churn the dickens out of that butter. Also. Amish.

A few links for you to enjoy:

http://themindunleashed.org/2014/06/22-powerful-images-ever.html

In celebration of Boy Meets World (THE BEST SHOW EVER IMHO) becoming Girl Meets World

 24601 – you da bomb

 

 

Leave a Reply

