I drove all night

Standard

Lately, I have been having a really hard time for several reasons – all too boring and self-wallowing to go too in depth at this point but short story – I have been working long hours and this is a stressful time at work and on top of everything, I was struck down with a horrible virus. Patient First told me to drink a lot of water. Thanks for nothing, jerks. I needed a break. So, I did the best thing I could do – I took a day off for pause.

Now in my ripe old age of 35, I don’t have a lot of time for myself anymore. Between working full time, being a wife, a mother and a homeowner – it is a lot to manage sometimes. In no way am I saying I’m busier than anyone else but it is a lot to have on your plate sometimes.

And, I did one of my favorite things – drive. I love to drive. I love to drive fast. With the windows down and the music high. I could drive all night. It is hard now to cruise around Baltimore because of the heavy traffic but on Tuesday? Everything worked in my favor. The beltway was clear. I opened it up. It was great. And for the first time in a while, I felt free. I felt like I used to feel when I was 17 and would just hop in my car and go. My first car was my favorite. It was comfortable. The stereo was loud (thanks to the boyfriend who then became the husband) and my car was fast. It was a boss machine (that’s for you, Dad, even though I don’t think you read this).

One thing that I have always really loved and has been a big part of my relationship with the husband is music and we have passed it on to the boy. When I was in high school (don’t you feel like I am going to talk about my 5 mile walk with newspaper shoes? Ugh. I’m so old), subwoofers in the back seat and giant stereo systems were quite the thing. I used to love knowing when my buddies were coming to pick me up and I could feel them for five minutes before they actually got there or sitting on top of the subwoofer riding down the road. I still listen to my music a little too loud. The boy often asks me to turn it up. I’m glad I passed it on to him. I love to sing loud and proud. Lately, I have been listening to the Red Hot Chili Peppers Blood Sugar Sex Magic. Still one of my all time favorite albums. HS me loves them. 35 year old me still loves the 1990’s version of them. I’m still coping with Anthony aging. It’s been difficult. But remember his long hair with the giant back tattoo….swoon. For your viewing pleasure:  RHCP

My day was awesome. I needed it. Shout out to Billy Squier as now I have had Stroke stuck in my mind for days now. That probably hasn’t happened for him in decades.

On another note, I have a million bruises on my body right now and no idea how I got them. Did I fall down the steps and forget? What exactly do I do that I can produce this kind of damage yet I cannot remember. Old age? Well, they are ripe for the poking – have at it if you see them.

Apparently the folks at Lauren’s new job send out emails to each other every morning. She sends me snippets. I have to be honest. I need to be friends with these people. They are hilarious. I know enough about Dungeons and Dragons to have a real conversations with them. I think I have mentioned before that I have lots of friendships in my head with people who don’t exactly know that we are friends (I have ruined pregnancy announcements, declared people my spirit animals all with people that I either don’t really know or know by proxy…you know, the usual). But these folks, I approve. Lauren. Let’s make this happen. Apparently there is a social happening with them and I so want her to invite me so I can infiltrate. Come on, Lauren. You know it would be epic. I’m a great icebreaker – my Asperger’s will come into play.

I hope you all have a wonderful long weekend. Here are some things to help you relax.

Seriously one of my favorite movies. http://www.buzzfeed.com/leonoraepstein/for-everyone-whose-sexual-awakening-was-caused-by-david-bowi

Mean Tweets

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

