Impaired Time Perception

Standard

Guys – This is important. Why am I always under the impression that I have more time? I have terrible time judgement and as I have gotten older and had a kid it has gotten even worse! It’s like having impaired depth perception but with time instead.

Current issue: I’m leaving tomorrow morning at 6am for the airport. I have not packed. I have not picked out clothes. I have not finished my laundry. I haven’t even asked husband to venture up to the attic to grab the suitcase. It is now 3:30pm.

Plans for tonight: Gym with husband. Dinner. Finish laundry. Pack. Spend some QT with husband before four days apart.

When, exactly, was I planning to actually do all of this? What am I thinking? And I have to wake up at 5am? Who needs sleep? (The answer would be me. I need sleep. A lot of it.)

The worst part is that I have reached the ripe ol’ age of 35, and I can’t let running late bother me. I know it happens. I also know that I have a little boy and on those days when we are actually on time, coats on, hands filled with coffee cups, lunch boxes, lovies, and 100 other things in hand, he usually takes one look at me and says, “Mommy, I have to poop.” There isn’t much more for me to do than to say ok and put everything down and help him out. I’m not going to rush him. I’m not going to get a speeding ticket to get there on time. I mean, how many times have you seen someone blow past you only to catch up to them at the stop light? Not worth it.

:D working on it, always always working on it.I guess what I’m trying to say is that for some things, I have to procrastinate. I am just going to wait until the last minute to do things. It’s not because I don’t care or don’t have the time. It’s just that I prioritize things a little differently. I want to spend time with husband tonight. I love him. I’ll miss him. And my sister won’t care if I am wearing pajama pants the entire weekend. The child won’t remember being everywhere on time. He’ll remember our moments together in the morning, him playing DJ on the iPod on the way to school. That means a little more to me. I do my best. I try. It’s also because I have a MILLION things happening all the time. I’m really, really far from perfect but I do the best I can.

Bon Voyage, folks. I’ll be back next week. Lauren will be posting over the next few days as she has returned from the land of the sun, good food, frothy drinks and relaxation. Musings will return to normal programming next Tuesday although admittedly I will be quite jet-lagged and tired. I’ll bring some vacation stories along for the ride.

Oh. And has anyone seen my keys?

Leave a Reply

